The Galician Lectureship - Centro de Estudos Galegos in Galician - was established at the Institute of Applied Linguistics and Translatology (IALT) of Leipzig University in 2010 with the support of the Xunta de Galicia. IALT is the only institute in Germany that offers a degree in the field of translation for Galician.

Kapelle und Leuchtturm an der galicischen Küste.
Foto: Colourbox

The Galician Language in Leipzig

Approximately 3.5 million people speak Galician today, and the language has never been more present in university teaching and research. Many academic institutions around the world now offer courses in Galician. The offer at the University of Leipzig, however, is unique. At present, the IALT is the only institute in Germany that offers a translation course for Galician.

Learning Galician

In the BA Translation, MA Translatology or MA Conference Interpreting you can choose Galician as a second or third foreign language. Students from other institutes and faculties can also take Galician as part of their key skills or as an optional subject in the humanities and social sciences. All offers are particularly interesting for students of Romance philology. You can also write your Bachelor's or Master's thesis in the field of Galician language and culture or in translation studies with a language combination that includes Galician. At IALT it is also possible to do a doctorate in Galician linguistics and translation.

In collaboration with the Galician regional government (Xunta de Galicia), we can provide scholarships to participate in a one-month summer school in Galicia in July. The courses are designed for beginners and advanced students and are accompanied by numerous cultural activities and excursions in Galicia. You can familiarise yourself with life in Galicia and deepen your linguistic and cultural knowledge.

 

Offres du lectorat de galicien

Présentations, table ronde, projections de films... Au-delà de l’enseignement, le lectorat de galicien propose de nombreuses activités au cours du semestre.

In March, during the semester break, we offer an intensive course for beginners. This 90-hour course enables students to reach the A1 level of the Common European Framework of Reference for Languages. Enrolled students receive ten credits for this course and can decide to continue with the module Galicisch Level II (04-ALT-1002-G) in the summer semester. The intensive course involves a heavy workload for the participants and is intended for students with previous knowledge of a Romance language, preferably Portuguese and Spanish. Non-members of the University and students from other universities can also participate in the intensive course as free auditors.

Galician Literature Day festivities

Around 17 May, the Galician Lecutreship organises various activities dedicated to Galician literature and to the author being honoured on that day. Readings and conferences on the life and work of the author are held, as well as literary translation workshops.

Galician Films

During the lecture periods, various Galician films are shown to familiarise the university community with Galicia and the Galician language. At the end of the summer semester, a public screening of Galician films with German subtitles is organised by students.

In recent years, activities have included the participation of the Leipzig University's Galician Lectureship in Leipzig's "Long Night of Science", where Galician short films were screened that were subtitled by students in an audiovisual translation workshop.

In May 2013, the Galician director Xosé Abad presented his documentary film O segredo da Frouxeira (The Secret of A Frouxeira) in Leipzig. After the screening of the film, a discussion session took place with the director on various aspects of the film and the impact of the Spanish Civil War, Francoism and its assimilation in present-day Galicia and Spain.

Presentations and Lecturers

The cultural offer of the Galician Lectureship at Leipzig University also includes presentations on current Galician topics and readings with Galician authors. In March 2012, for example, thanks to the participation of María Reimóndez, we were able to organise a reading of excerpts from her book "Pirata" at the Leipzig Book Fair. The author also led a workshop with students of Galician on translation in the Galician sociolinguistic context.

The Galician Lectureship invites teachers from Galician universities. They give lectures and presentations on Galicia and various aspects of the Galician language and culture.

Culinary Events

At least once a year, together with the Catalan and Basque Lectureships and corresponding students, the Galician Lectureship at Leipzig University organises a culinary event in which the students prepare and taste typical Basque, Galician and Catalan dishes.

Round Table

During the lecture periods, a round table is organised every two weeks in collaboration with the Catalan and Basque Lectureships. Students from the different lectorates have the opportunity to talk to each other and to the teachers in order to deepen their linguistic knowledge.

 

Workshop on Galician-German Audio-visual Translation

In addition to the cultural and translation courses, you can take a real subtitling course in which you will subtitle a Galician film in German. This is a workshop with theoretical and practical content that gives you an introduction to audiovisual translation and deepens your knowledge of Galician language and culture. At the end of the workshop you will receive a certificate.

In June 2012, the Galician language department of Leipzig University offered a subtitling workshop as part of the Summer University on Translation Studies, in which teachers and translators from various Latin American and European countries participated.

Language and cultural tandem between students of Galician in Leipzig and students from Galicia

The Galician Lectureship at Leipzig University collaborates with various educational institutions in Galicia (grammar schools and language schools) in order to promote relations between German students learning Galician and Galician students learning German. This enables both parties to practice the language in authentic communication situations. This collaboration takes place in the form of video conferences, e-mails, video exchanges, etc.

Exchange programmes with Galicia for teachers and students

The partnership between IALT at Leipzig University and several Galician universities considerably enriches the courses of the Galician Lectureship. Galician lecturers come to Leipzig and give courses in their field of specialisation, and Leipzig lecturers also travel to Galicia to give courses.

This also applies to students: students from Leipzig University can study for one or two semesters at a university in Galicia and Leipzig University also welcomes Galician students. These activities contribute not only to deepening the relationship between the universities, but also between the Galician and German-speaking communities.

Find out more

Basque Lectureship

Read more

Catalan Lectureship

Read more

Xunta de Galicia

Read more

Das Galicischlektorat – auf Galicisch Centro de Estudos Galegos – nahm 2010 mit Unterstützung durch die Xunta de Galicia am Institut für Angewandte Linguistik und Translatologie (IALT) an der Universität Leipzig seine Arbeit auf. Das IALT ist das einzige Institut in Deutschland, an dem Sie einen Abschluss im Bereich Übersetzen für das Galicische erlangen können.

Kapelle und Leuchtturm an der galicischen Küste.
Foto: Colourbox

Galicisch in Leipzig

Etwa 3,5 Millionen Menschen sprechen heute Galicisch, und noch nie war das Galicische in der universitären Lehre und Forschung so präsent wie heute. An einer ganzen Reihe von universitären Einrichtungen weltweit werden heute Galicischsprachkurse angeboten. Das Angebot an der Universität Leipzig ist allerdings einzigartig – derzeit ist das IALT das einzige Institut in Deutschland mit einer Ausbildung für Übersetzen Galicisch.


Galicisch lernen

Im Bachelorstudiengang B. A. Translation oder in den Masterstudiengängen M. A. Translatologie und M. A. Konferenzdolmetschen können Sie Galicisch als zweite oder dritte Fremdsprache wählen. Studierende anderer Institute und Fakultäten können das Galicische ebenfalls im Rahmen der Schlüsselqualifikation oder im Wahlbereich der Geistes- und Sozialwissenschaften belegen. Alle Angebote sind insbesondere auch für die Studierenden der Romanistik interessant. Sie können auch die Bachelorarbeit oder Masterarbeit im Bereich der galicischen Sprache und Kultur oder Translatologie anfertigen oder am IALT zur galicischen Sprach- und Übersetzungswissenschaft promovieren.

In Zusammenarbeit mit der galicischen Regionalregierung (Xunta de Galicia) können wir Stipendien zur Teilnahme an einer einmonatigen Sommerschule im Juli in Galicien vergeben. Die Kurse richten sich an Anfänger und Fortgeschrittene und werden begleitet von zahlreichen kulturellen Aktivitäten und Ausflügen durch Galicien. So können Sie das Leben in Galicien aus der Nähe kennenlernen und die eigenen sprachlichen und kulturellen Kenntnisse vertiefen.

Angebote des Galicischlektorats

Vorträge, Stammtisch, Filmvorführungen – Neben der Lehre während des Semesters gibt es am Galicischlektorat eine ganze Reihe anderer Angebote.

In den Semesterferien im März bieten wir diesen Intensivkurs für Anfänger an. In 90 Unterrichtsstunden wird das Sprachniveau A1 des GER erreicht. Eingeschriebene Studierende erhalten für das Absolvieren des Kurses zehn Leistungspunkte und können dann auf Wunsch mit dem Modul Galicisch Niveau II (04-ALT-1002-G) im Sommersemester fortfahren.  Der Intensivkurs ist mit großem Arbeitsaufwand für die Teilnehmenden verbunden, daher ist er für Studierende mit Vorkenntnissen in einer romanischen Sprache gedacht, insbesondere des Portugiesischen und des Spanischen. Personen, die nicht Angehörige der Universität sind, sowie Studierende anderer Universitäten können als Gaststudierende am Intensivkurs teilnehmen.

Feierlichkeiten zum Tag der galicischen Literatur

Um den 17. Mai herum organisiert das Galicischlektorat verschiedene Aktivitäten zur galicischen Literatur und die jeweils an diesem Tag geehrte Schriftstellerin oder Schriftsteller. Dazu finden Lesungen und Kolloquien zu ihrem Leben und Werk sowie Workshops zum Literaturübersetzen usw. statt.

Filmvorführungen

Während der Vorlesungszeit werden verschiedene galicische Filme gezeigt, die der Universitätsgemeinschaft Galicien und die galicische Sprache näher bringen sollen. Am Ende des Sommersemesters findet eine öffentliche Vorführung der galicischen Filme statt, die von den Studierenden mit deutschen Untertiteln versehen worden sind.

Unter den Aktivitäten der vergangenen Jahre kann die Teilnahme des Galicischlektorats der Universität Leipzig an der langen Nacht der Wissenschaften in Leipzig hervorgehoben werden, bei der galicische Kurzfilme gezeigt wurden, die von den Studierenden in einem Workshop zum audiovisuellen Übersetzen untertitelt wurden.

Im Mai 2013 hat der galicische Regisseur Xosé Abad in Leipzig seinen Dokumentarfilm O segredo da Frouxeira (Das Geheimnis von A Frouxeira) vorgestellt. Nach der Vorführung des Films fand eine Diskussionsrunde mit dem Regisseur zu verschiedenen Aspekten des Films und den Auswirkungen des Spanischen Bürgerkriegs, der Francodiktatur sowie ihrer historischen Aufarbeitung im Galicien und Spanien von heute statt.

Vorträge und Lesungen

Das kulturelle Angebot des Galicischlektorats der Universität Leipzig umfasst ebenfalls Vorträge zu aktuellen galicischen Themen und Lesungen mit galicischen Schriftstellerinnen und Schriftstellern. Im März 2012 beispielsweise konnten wir dank der Teilnahme von María Reimóndez an der Leipziger Buchmesse eine Lesung aus ihrem Buch „Pirata” organisieren. Die Autorin leitete auch einen Workshop mit den Galicisch-Studierenden zum Thema der Übersetzung im soziolinguistischen Kontext Galiciens.

Das Galicischlektorat empfängt auch Gastdozenten aus galicischen Universitäten. Sie erteilen Übersetzungsunterricht und halten Vorträge zu Galicien sowie verschiedenen Aspekten der galicischen Sprache und Kultur.

Kulinarische Treffen

Das Galicischlektorat der Universität Leipzig führt gemeinsam mit den Lektoraten für Katalanisch und Baskisch und den Studierenden der Lektorate mindestens einmal pro Jahr ein kulinarisches Treffen durch, bei dem die Studierenden typische Gerichte der baskischen, galicischen und katalanischen Küche zubereiten und gemeinsam probieren.

Stammtisch

Während der Vorlesungszeit findet in Zusammenarbeit mit den Lektoraten für Katalanisch und Baskisch alle zwei Wochen ein Stammtisch statt, bei dem die Studierenden der verschiedenen Lektorate im Gespräch untereinander und mit den Lehrenden ihre Sprachkenntnisse weiter vertiefen können.

Workshop zum audiovisuellen Übersetzen Galicisch-Deutsch

Ergänzend zu den Lehrveranstaltungen zu Landeskunde und Übersetzen können Sie ein echtes Untertitelungspraktikum absolvieren, bei dem ein galicischer Originalfilm deutsch untertitelt wird. Dabei handelt es sich um einen Workshop mit theoretischen und praktischen Inhalten, bei dem Sie eine Einführung in das audiovisuelle Übersetzen erhalten und Ihre Kenntnisse zur galicischen Sprache und Kultur vertiefen sollen. Am Ende des Workshops erhalten Sie zum Nachweis eine Urkunde.

Im Juni 2012 hat das Galicischlektorat der Universität Leipzig einen Untertitelungsworkshop im Rahmen der Sommerschule zur Translatologie angeboten, an der Dozenten und Übersetzer verschiedener Länder Lateinamerikas und Europas teilgenommen haben.

Sprachlich-kulturelles Tandem zwischen Galicisch-Studierenden aus Leipzig und Studierenden aus Galicien

Das Galicischlektorat der Universität Leipzig arbeitet mit verschiedenen Bildungseinrichtungen in Galicien (Gymnasien und Sprachschulen) zusammen, um die Beziehungen zwischen den deutschen Studierenden, die Galicisch lernen, und den galicischen Schülern, die Deutsch lernen, zu fördern. Beide Seiten können dadurch die Sprache in realen Kommunikationssituationen anwenden. Diese Zusammenarbeit findet mithilfe von Videokonferenzen, E-Mails, dem Austausch von Videos usw. statt.

Austauschprogramme für Dozenten und Studierende mit Galicien

Durch die Abkommen zwischen dem IALT der Universität Leipzig und verschiedenen galicischen Universitäten werden die Kurse am Galicischlektorat auf vielfältige Weise bereichert. Galicische Lehrende kommen nach Leipzig und erteilen Lehrveranstaltungen in ihrem Fachgebiet, während andererseits auch Lehrende aus Leipzig nach Galicien reisen, um dort zu unterrichten.

Gleiches gilt für die Studierenden: Studierende der Universität Leipzig können ein oder zwei Semester an einer Universität in Galicien studieren, und die Universität Leipzig empfängt gleichzeitig galicische Studierende. Diese Aktivitäten leisten nicht nur einen Beitrag zur Vertiefung der Beziehungen zwischen den Universitäten, sondern auch zwischen der galicischen und der deutschen Sprechergemeinschaft.

Das könnte Sie auch interessieren

Galicien und der Galicische Sprachraum

mehr erfahren

Leipziger Frühlingskurs Galicisch

mehr erfahren

Iberische Lektorate

mehr erfahren