The Basque department at the Institute of Applied Linguistics and Translatology (IALT) was founded in 2013 with the support of the Etxepare Basque Institute (Etxepare Institutua). Since then, the department has become the reference point for Basque in Europe. The University of Leipzig offers the largest number of Basque language and culture courses in Europe outside Spain. Students from all disciplines may take part in these Basque courses.

Blick auf San Sebastián im Baskenland.
Blick auf San Sebastián im Baskenland. Foto: Colourbox

Basque in Leipzig

The Etxepare Basque Institute has a network of more than thirty academic departments and five professorial chairs for Basque studies in Europe and America. A special focus is on expanding Basque language studies in Germany, where four academic departments have come into being in Leipzig, Berlin, Frankfurt, and Konstanz. The Basque department at the University of Leipzig is a branch of strategic importance to the Etxepare Basque Institute. On the one hand, the institute’s position in the German university system is strengthened. On the other hand, the department is becoming the reference point for Europe, as Leipzig offers the most comprehensive programme for the study of Basque language and culture.

 

 

Studying Basque

With the introduction of the Basque language and culture courses, the Institute of Applied Linguistics and Translatology (IALT) was able to expand its offers for the languages of the Iberian Peninsula. Studying Basque will deepen your insight into the diversity of Iberian studies. It will give you a good opportunity to get to know a minority language (probably the oldest language in Europe), its unique features, and its present-day situation. All students who are interested in deepening their knowledge of minority languages, language politics, or the translation of minority languages or would just like to learn a new language and discover its culture are welcome to seize this exciting opportunity.

You can study Basque at IALT as a key qualification or as an elective within the BA Translation, the MA Translatology, or the MA Conference Interpreting. Students from other institutes and faculties can also study Basque as a key qualification or as an elective within the Humanities and social sciences. For more information, please contact the Basque department or refer to the brochures detailing key qualifications and electives.

In cooperation with the Etxepare Basque Institute, we offer scholarships for intensive Basque courses at various institutions in the Basque Country. These give advanced students the opportunity to enhance their Basque language competence in the Basque-speaking region and with the help of native speakers.

 

Basque Department Extracurriculars

Lectures, Stammtisch, film nights: Apart from taught courses during term, the Basque department offers plenty of extracurricular activities you can take part in.

The intensive course for Basque literary, linguistic, and cultural studies and language practice always takes place March. Its focus is on acquiring basic knowledge of the Basque language and the history of the Basque Country. Based on the documentary film series Euskara Jendea, aspects of the history of the Basque language (from a diachronic and sociolinguistic perspective) as well as other aspects of Basque culture will be discussed. The latter include the differences in language policies in the regions of the Basque Country in Spain and France. At the end of the course, you will take two exams. The first exam will cover the topics of Euskara Jendea. You may use your notes and other materials from class. The second exam tests the written and oral language skills you have obtained. The oral part consists in a conversation between two course participants. Enrolled students will receive ten credit points for completing the course. If they wish, they can go on to do the summer semester module Baskisch Niveau II (04-ALT-1002-B) straight away.

International Basque Language Day

International Basque Language Day

Around December 3 every year, the Basque department organizes various activities to celebrate the Basque language. These include seminars on language politics familiarizing participants with different ways of promoting minority languages by means of curricula and laws.

Film nights

During term time, we show a variety of Basque films which give an interested audience a better understanding of the Basque Country and the Basque language. One example is a film festival organized in cooperation with Euskal Etxea Berlin – Gernika Deutsch-Baskischer Kulturverein e. V.. The festival gave students a chance to watch the latest films from Basque cinema in subtitled versions.

Lectures

The cultural offering of the University of Leipzig’s Basque department is supplemented with non-regular lectures and conferences on Basque language and culture. Artists, university lecturers, and experts in arts and culture from the Basque Country familiarize the audience with various aspects of literature, cinema, history, and Basque anthropology. Upcoming lectures are planned to deal with language politics, the current situation of the Basque language, gender studies and the role of women in Basque society today.

Culinary experiences

The University of Leipzig’s Basque department joins the Catalan and the Galician departments and students of all three of them to hold a culinary extravaganza at least once a year. Students prepare and try typical dishes of Basque, Galician, and Catalan cuisine.

Stammtisch

During term, the Basque, Catalan, and Galician departments host a Stammtisch taking place every two weeks. Students from the different departments can deepen their language skills by practising with each other as well as with the teachers.

The Etxepare Basque Institute

In 1545, Bernard Etxepare wrote a book titled “Linguae Vasconum Primitiae”. It was the first book written in the Basque language, and its goal was to promote Basque. The Etxepare Basque Institute is working in this spirit, as it has committed itself to promoting Basque language and culture all over the world. To this end, the institute, which is funded by the Basque government, offers a wide range of activities to culturally promote and spread the Basque language. It also provides funding through support programmes and initiates the creation of Basque departments at universities all over the world.

Das Baskischlektorat am Institut für Angewandte Linguistik und Translatologie (IALT) wurde 2013 mit Unterstützung des Institut Etxepare – Etxepare Institutua – gegründet. Das Lektorat ist inzwischen zum Referenzpunkt für Baskisch in Europa geworden. Außerhalb Spaniens bietet die Universität Leipzig die meisten Lehrveranstaltungen im Bereich der baskischen Sprache und Kultur in ganz Europa an. Studierende aller Fachrichtungen können das Baskischangebot wahrnehmen.

Blick auf San Sebastián im Baskenland.
Blick auf San Sebastián im Baskenland. Foto: Colourbox

Baskisch in Leipzig

Das Institut Etxepare besitzt ein Netzwerk von mehr als dreißig Lektoraten und fünf Lehrstühlen für Baskische Studien in Europa und Amerika und bemüht sich besonders um den Ausbau des Studiums der baskischen Sprache in Deutschland, wo es inzwischen schon vier Lektorate gibt: in Leipzig, Berlin, Frankfurt und Konstanz. Das baskische Lektorat an der Universität Leipzig ist ein strategisch wichtiger Standort für das Institut Etxepare. Die Position des Instituts im deutschen Universitätssystem wird gestärkt und gleichzeitig wird das Lektorat zum Referenzpunkt Europas, denn Leipzig als Zentrum bietet das umfassendste Programm für das Studium der baskischen Sprache und Kultur.

Baskisch studieren

Mit dem Studium der baskischen Sprache und Kultur konnte das Institut für Angewandte Linguistik und Translatologie (IALT) sein Angebot im Bereich der Sprachen der iberischen Halbinsel erweitern. Mit dem Studium des Baskischen erhalten Sie eine tiefere Einsicht in die Vielfalt der iberischen Studien. So haben Sie eine gute Möglichkeit, eine Minderheitensprache (und außerdem die wahrscheinlich älteste Sprache Europas), ihre Besonderheiten und heutige Situation kennenzulernen. Allen Studierenden, die an der Vertiefung ihrer Kenntnisse in den Minderheitensprachen, an der Sprachpolitik bzw. an der Übersetzung von Minderheitensprachen interessiert sind oder einfach nur eine neue Sprache und deren Kultur kennenlernen möchten, bietet das Angebot des Lektorats dazu eine ausgezeichnete Gelegenheit.

Baskisch kann am IALT im Rahmen der Schlüsselqualifikation bzw. im Wahlbereich im Bachelorstudiengang B.A. Translation oder in den Masterstudiengängen M.A. Translatologie und M.A. Konferenzdolmetschen belegt werden. Studierende anderer Institute und Fakultäten können Baskisch ebenfalls im Rahmen der Schlüsselqualifikation oder im Wahlbereich der Geistes- und Sozialwissenschaften belegen. Informationen dazu bekommen Sie direkt am Lektorat, in den Wahlbereichsbroschüren und den Angeboten für die Schlüsselqualifikation.

In Zusammenarbeit mit dem Institut Etxepare bieten wir Stipendien zur Teilnahme an Baskisch-Intensivkursen in verschiedenen Einrichtungen im Baskenland an. So haben fortgeschrittene Studierende die Möglichkeit, ihre Sprachkenntnisse im baskischen Sprachgebiet und mit Hilfe von Muttersprachlerinnen und Muttersprachlern zu vertiefen.

Angebote des Baskischlektorats

Vorträge, Stammtisch, Filmvorführungen – Neben der Lehre während des Semesters gibt es am Baskischlektorat eine ganze Reihe anderer Angebote.

Der Intensivkurs Baskisch Literatur-, Sprach-, Kulturwissenschaft und Sprachpraxis findet immer im März statt und konzentriert sich vor allem auf den Erwerb von Grundkenntnissen der baskischen Sprache und der Geschichte des Baskenlandes. Mit Hilfe der Dokumentarfilmreihe Euskara Jendea werden Aspekte der baskischen Sprachgeschichte (Diachronie und Soziolinguistik) sowie andere ausgewählten Themen der baskischen Kultur behandelt, wie z. B. die unterschiedliche Sprachpolitik in den verschiedenen Territorien des Baskenlandes in Spanien bzw. Frankreich. Am Ende des Kurses legen Sie zwei Prüfungen ab. Die erste Prüfung bezieht sich auf die Themen im Dokumentarfilm Euskara Jendea. Dabei können Sie Unterlagen und Notizen aus dem Unterricht verwenden. Die erworbenen Sprachkenntnisse werden in der zweiten Prüfung in schriftlicher und mündlicher Form abgefragt. Die mündliche Prüfung besteht aus einer Konversation zwischen zwei Kursteilnehmenden. Eingeschriebene Studierende erhalten für das Absolvieren des Kurses zehn Leistungspunkte und können dann auf Wunsch mit dem Modul Baskisch Niveau II (04-ALT-1002-B) im Sommersemester fortfahren.

Feierlichkeiten zum Tag der baskischen Sprache

In der Zeit um den 3. Dezember organisiert das Baskischlektorat jedes Jahr verschiedene Aktivitäten zur baskischen Sprache. So zum Beispiel Seminare zur Sprachpolitik, in denen sich die Möglichkeit bietet, aus erster Hand die verschiedenen Möglichkeiten der Förderung von Minderheitensprachen durch Bildungspläne und Gesetze kennenzulernen.

Filmvorführungen

Während der Vorlesungszeit zeigen wir verschiedene baskische Filme, die Interessierten das Baskenland und die baskische Sprache näher bringen. In Zusammenarbeit mit der Euskal Etxea Berlin – Gernika Deutsch-Baskischer Kulturverein e. V. wurde zum Beispiel ein Filmfestival organisiert, bei dem Studierende die neusten Filme des baskischen Kinos in untertitelter Version sehen konnten.

Vorträge

Das kulturelle Angebot des Baskischlektorats der Universität Leipzig wird mit sporadischen Vorträgen und Konferenzen über die baskische Sprache und Kultur ergänzt. Künstlerinnen und Künstler, Universitätsdozierende, Expertinnen und Experten für Kunst und Kultur aus dem Baskenland bringen den Teilnehmenden verschiedene Bereiche der Literatur, des Kinos, der Geschichte und der baskischen Anthropologie näher.  Für die Zukunft sind Vorträge zur Sprachpolitik, zur heutigen Situation des Baskischen, Gender Studies und zur Rolle der Frau in der heutigen baskischen Gesellschaft vorgesehen

Kulinarische Treffen

Das Baskischlektorat der Universität Leipzig führt gemeinsam mit den Lektoraten für Katalanisch und Galicisch und den Studierenden der Lektorate mindestens einmal pro Jahr ein kulinarisches Treffen durch, bei dem die Studierenden typische Gerichte der baskischen, galicischen und katalanischen Küche zubereiten und gemeinsam probieren.

Stammtisch

Während der Vorlesungszeit findet in Zusammenarbeit mit den Lektoraten für Katalanisch und Galicisch alle zwei Wochen ein Stammtisch statt, bei dem die Studierenden der verschiedenen Lektorate im Gespräch untereinander und mit den Lehrenden ihre Sprachkenntnisse weiter vertiefen können.

Das Baskische Institut Etxepare

Im Jahr 1545 schrieb Bernard Etxepare ein Buch mit dem Titel „Linguae Vasconum Primitiae”. Es ist das erste Buch in baskischer Sprache und wurde mit dem Ziel geschrieben, das Baskische zu fördern. Das Institut Etxepare arbeitet in genau diesem Sinne und hat sich der Förderung der baskischen Sprache und Kultur in der ganzen Welt verpflichtet. Zu diesem Zweck führt dieses von der baskischen Regierung finanzierte Institut verschiedene Aktivitäten zur kulturellen Förderung und Verbreitung der baskischen Sprache durch, bietet Unterstützung durch Förderprogramme und veranlasst die Einrichtung von Lektoraten an Universitäten der ganzen Welt.

Das könnte Sie auch interessieren

Baskisch und das Baskenland

mehr erfahren

Intensivkurs Baskisch

mehr erfahren

Iberische Lektorate am IALT

mehr erfahren